Ashcroft Header

Welcome to Ashcroft High School

Community Leadership

TEAM SIXTEEN is a new intra school football programme that provides leadership opportunities for our students, through being placed in organising roles on our student management committee. The student have designed and implemented this programme to meet the needs of other students within the school. They will also have the opportunity to complete an F.A Junior football Leaders qualification, and will gain further opportunities to work within the local community.

Radicalisation

Be aware – Advice on Safeguarding your young person from radicalisation and violent extremism

At Ashcroft High School we pride ourselves on celebrating and promoting our diverse community with its many different ethnicities and religions.  Furthermore we work hard to promote British Values through our curriculum, assemblies, house group time and enrichment activities.  These values (as defined by the Government) are:

  • democracy
  • the rule of law
  • individual liberty
  • mutual respect
  • tolerance of those of different faiths and beliefs

We also recognise however that in today’s world our young people are faced with many pressures as they grow up and can often be influenced by strong feelings expressed by others in connection with a range of complex issues. Our overriding concern is that all our young people feel safe and also express tolerance towards all cultures and religions even when personal views may be different. We do not condone political, religious or cultural extremism in any form believing it to run contrary to our fundamental values.

We have a duty of care to ensure that all in community are protected from any dangers of being potentially or actually radicalised. The PREVENT strategy incorporating one organisation called “Channel”, is designed to protect people potentially at risk of being radicalised.

Ashcroft High School fully endorse the Government’s PREVENT strategy that:

“Schools can help to protect children from extremist and violent views in the same ways that they help to safeguard children from drugs, gang violence or alcohol. Their purpose must be to protect children from harm and to ensure that they are taught in a way that is consistent with the law and our values. “

Please be reassured that all of our students are given information on staying safe in the school and wider community and are told about appropriate behaviour in terms of their day to day conduct and when using technology. We do follow up and refer any inappropriate or concerning behaviour and work closely with a range of other agencies, such as the Police and Social Care. Our Safeguarding Team are always available to discuss any issue you as parents/carers may be concerned about.

Do not hesitate to contact us and let us work together to celebrate our diverse and tolerant community.

Who to contact?

Single point of contact

Mrs R Paul        rpaul@ashcrofthighschool.co.uk

Or any other safeguarding leads if Mrs Paul cannot be contacted

Ms M Austin – maustin@ashcrofthighschool.co.uk

Mrs J Ellins – jellins@ashcrofthighschool.co.uk

Faraday House:  Mrs J Clarke – jclarke@ashcrofthighschool.co.uk

Faraday House: Mrs S Lynch – slynch@ashcrofthighschool.co.uk

Holmes House: Mrs R Paul – rpaul@ashcrofthighschool.co.uk

Holmes House: Mr C Mitcherson cmitcherson@ashcrofthighschool.co.uk

Rowling House: Mr M Oughton – moughton@ashcrofthighschool.co.uk

Rowling House: Mrs N Turner – nturner@ashcrofthighschool.co.uk

 Shackleton House: Ms J Taylor – jtaylor@ashcrofthighschool.co.uk

Shackleton House: Mr M Isnat – misnat@ashcrofthighschool.co.uk


Police

Telephone

Emergency: Call 999      Non-emergency: Call 101


Prevent

01582 473080

E-Mail: prevent@bedfordshire.pnn.police.uk

Photo Gallery

Please view our image gallery